Merry Christmas from Japan!

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas this year. I started this blog in July 2009, and it’s hard to believe that it’s almost 2014 now. Time really flies and it’s been fun to record my thoughts and adventures with music on this blog from Japan. This year 2013 was a particularly difficult one for me as my mother passed away in late August from Cancer. She was 69 and so full of life at the time who always love and supported my passion with music. It’s sad she is no longer here to enjoy the music she so much inspired me to listen to and play. However, life goes on and I’m so very fortune to have found the thing I love to do and the time to do it.

So, enjoy the music you listen to and make. Play on and I’ll see everyone in 2014. Happy New Year!! Thanks for the support.

The video is of my friend and I performing our rendition of “3D Dance” by Trans-X, one of our favorite synthpop bands. My friend Kazuki and I both grew up in the 80’s and are the same age. He grew up in Nagano-city, Japan and I grew up in Seattle, Washington. Kazuki is playing the Korg MS2000, Roland D-50, and Roland XV-5080. I am playing the Clavia Nord Lead 2x with the drums and arps sequenced on the Roland Fantom X6. Vocals are run through a TC-Helicon Voicelive Touch 2. We used a Roland VS-2480 for mixing and EV speakers for all the audio and floor monitors. We manage to cram it all into my van that we tour with. We’ve been busy from late November performing in various small clubs throughout Nagano-city, JAPAN playing old 80’s synth hits. Lots of fun.

We decided not to pack around the old analog gear this time around, but we will definitely do so come Spring. Lots of places to play and time to get things sorted for those events. We enjoy it very much. Thanks again!!

3 thoughts on “Merry Christmas from Japan!

  1. Andreas Rueckert

    Great performance! Thanks for sharing the video!

    My condolences on the passing of your mother.

    Merry christmas and a happy new year!

  2. elie

    Hey Jim, Merry Christmas and Best Wishes for 2014 – Thanks for sharing your Synth Blog and related adventures. Pretty decent performance and good to see you putting all that gear to such talented use. I made sure I passed the video link to my friend, it’s as if he never gave up the hobby and went on tour. ; )

  3. Thanks Jim, and a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you.

    I have enjoyed following you on your search for those nostalgic electronic instruments of the past, and look forward to seeing more of your acquisitions in the future…..you’ll just have to get yourself a bigger van and expand your electronic repair facilities!

Leave a Reply

