Moog Sub Phatty Synth of the Year 2013

Moog Sub Phatty
Moog Sub Phatty

As the title says, I am stating this is the best synth of the year 2013 for me. I been extremely fortunate to have found some amazing deals this year but the new Moog Sub Phatty has to be the best and I’ve only had it for less than a week. Interestingly enough I also paid regular price for it. I should also mentioned beforehand that I have never owned, played, or even seen a real Moog synth before, but I have heard it a plenty on records, tapes, and CDs growing up in the late 70’s, 80’s, on up to our present day.

The Moog Sub Phatty is every bit of what the numerous reviews are already stating, that’s it’s a fantastic synth worthy of an award this year. Unless you don’t like the Moog sound, you cannot go wrong with this synth. It is hands down the sound I’ve been after for quite some time that I knew existed in the Moog, but was out of reach with the prices they are going for these days. I came very close to buying the Little Phatty, but after viewing countless Youtube videos and reading reviews, I felt it just wasn’t “quite” right for me yet. A couple of times I had my finger on the Ebay purchase button for a Moog The Source ( My original first choice ), but now have all but forgotten the Moog source.

Make way for the Moog Sub Phatty!!!

I must admit the my initial impressions from Youtube were a little underwhelming at first. Mainly because I didn’t particularly like the presets and after getting the synth I can now understand that many users on Youtube are playing the stock sounds and tweaking slightly. Out of the box, the Sub Phatty is pretty raw and rough. I pretty much had to tone done most everything to get the early sound I was looking for. The beauty though was that I could do just that. Tone things done or bring them up to the full raw sound if I liked. So don’t get put off by the Youtube videos. Honestly most don’t do the Synth Phatty justice at all on Youtube. Despite that, it doesn’t seem to be swaying people from buying it, quite the contrary. In Japan, the Moog Sub Phatty is ultra HOT!!

So far there is absolutely NOTHING I don’t like about the synth. I did have midi problems in the beginning but after the firmware update I was able to get a Midi panic function that corrected my initial issues. There is also a Midi IN and Midi OUT jack, but no Midi Thru port, so I’m not sure if the Midi Out will also work as a Midi thru. I’m currently checking that out. Other than those two things which are important to me, the synth is simply brilliant. Yes, there are only two octaves, but I don’t mind at all. Why? Simple. So far I have yet to take my left hand off the pitch and mod wheels. I also have been tweaking the knobs in real time so my right hand has been quite busy with two octaves already. The octave switches are an easy access if one does want to move up or down the keys. I also use my Yamaha QY700 sequencer with the Sub Phatty and that takes care of any key shortages.

Working with the knobs and mod wheels tweaking the filters while with a sequenced bass line is simply awesome. It really comes alive and the sound is fat. The Moog Sub Phatty beautifully replicates early bass stuff from the 70’s and 80’s. ( ie. Analog Moog bass lines ). It really is fantastic and I can’t recommend it high enough if you are interested in adding the Moog sound to your live or studio setup.

For 2013, the Moog Sub Phatty is my synth of the year. It will be used immensely for the rest of the year and well into 2014. I have a ton of gear now, perhaps too much, and I can honestly say there is nothing that I have that is going to replace the Moog Sub Phatty. I can FINALLY relax and say I have the bass synth parts covered. Finally!

Happy Holidays!

Here is another fantastic use of the Moog Sub Phatty that actually was one of my inspirations that helped me make my decision to make the purchase. The Korg Poly-800 sounds great plugged into the Sub Phatty.

Korg Poly-800 played through Moog Sub Phatty

3 thoughts on “Moog Sub Phatty Synth of the Year 2013

  1. Carlo

    I tried the little phatty and i think the sub phatty is even better due to the all knobs commands like in the old times instead of only four knobs, that makes it a more immediate creative tool. I always like the direct access to a parameter and not all these digital menu!

  2. Enter the world of analog synthesized percussion. Learn the basics for creating kick drums, snare, hi-hat, and more through subtractive synthesis. Then create your own hard hitting percussion sounds. Sample, sequence, loop, repeat. Don’t Forget: Experimentation and learning will reward you with a lifetime of rich synthesizer experiences.

    Get a free quick start guide and free synthesized percussion presets for the Sub Phatty at http://www.moogmusic.com/percussion.

Leave a Reply

