Roland D-50 static noise cured with DeoxIT

Roland D-50
Roland D-50

A few days ago, I found a used Roland D-50 in excellent condition but it had a lot of crackling, static noise, and pops when using photo headphones and stereo outputs. The sales clerk at the used music shop here in Nagano-city Japan had no idea what the problem was so he sold it to me for $50 bucks. I honestly didn’t know what the problem was nor did I really know how to fix it either. In addition, I already have two working Roland D-50 synths and couldn’t believe I was bringing a third one home. I thought I could at least use this one for parts to keep my other two D-50 keyboards running. Thus I thought it was a good deal and a good reason to get it.

The first thing I did when I got home after confirming the static problem was to get out some DeoxIT and spray the volume and aftertouch sliders. I then sprayed all of the output jacks as well. The keyboard remained noisy with some snap, crackle, and pops but after about 3 to 4 hours the Roland D-50 became eerily quiet. I tested out all the keys with several different sounds which all work and sounded fantastic. It seemed like the DeoxIT spray cleared up the problem. I can now say that after a couple of days of extensive playing, the Roland D-50 is as good as new now. So I feel really lucky to have found this working Roland D-50 for such a low price. Now I need to determine if I really need a third working Roland D-50 in the house. Currently I have my “best of” Valhalla patches in it and they sure sound great. It’s amazing at how analog the Roland D-50 can sound with the right patches. It’s one of my favorite keyboards for sure and one I’ll always have in the studio.

Here is “Synthfreq” doing a short example of the famous patch “Living Calliope” on the Roland D-50.

One thought on “Roland D-50 static noise cured with DeoxIT

  1. We got a D50 back when they were the latest thing and still have it packed away somewhere. Someday I hope to get it out again! But our one also had crackles. I’ll have to try DeoxIT or similar, but I fear it may not work in our case. I could hear echo on the crackles, which makes me think the crackling was happening internally somewhere, before the sound reached the echo module. I guess the signal wasn’t digital all the way. Was there echo on your crackles?

    Thanks,
    Rob.

Leave a Reply

