Dualing Junos with the Roland Juno 106s

Roland Juno 106s

Roland Juno 106s

Over the weekend I picked up a used Roland Juno 106S version for $50 bucks at a used music shop here in Nagano-city, Japan. The Roland Juno 106S is in excellent cosmetic shape with almost everything functional. Like the Roland Juno 106, the 106S is identical with the exception of two speakers built in and a sheet music stand bracket that is attached on the back. Inside you have the same black resin covered voice chips of which five are working perfectly with one likely to go shortly. The level of the sixth 80017A chip is lower and you can hear a slight crackle. Thus I’ll definitely be sending the voice chip board into the Synth Spa for refurbishing like my other Juno 106.

Also, I am experiencing a pulsating crackle noise with the Chorus when either Chorus 1 or 2 are selected. It’s likely the MN3009 chips need to be replaced which I’m currently consulting the Synth Spa about. Overall it should be pretty reasonable to get the Roland JUno 106S in perfect working order. My other Roland Juno 106 is sounding awesome and I love playing it. Having DUAL Juno 106 synths should be fun especially since they both have built in MIDI. It’s also nice to have a spare as well.

I don’t know much about the naming of the Roland Juno-106S other than I’ve heard the 106S was released in Japan while the Roland HS-60 was released overseas. I like how the Roland Juno 106S is painted just like the regular Juno 106. They both sound identical to me and they should because they both have the same voice chip board inside when I checked. The Juno 106S is slightly deeper because the voice chip board is located under the keys to make room for the speakers. The power supply area is moved more towards the middle. Everything else is identical.

The Roland Juno 106 and 106S synths are fantastic. I really love the simplicity of them and how great they sound. It was a welcome surprise to find this second board and at such a great price.

UPDATE: I have sent the voice chip board, panel board, jack board, and cpu board to The Synth Spa recently. I wanted to swap out the old chips for some “unwrapped” ones. In addition I am experiencing some crackle noise with the Chorus so that will be check on. Finally I plan to have a general cleaning and check-up with the other panel and cpu boards with the battery getting replaced as well. I’m confident the Roland Juno 106S will run sweet like my other one and last a long time as well. Allen does a great job at the Synth Spa. I’ll update my article with the progress made. Thanks!

13 thoughts on “Dualing Junos with the Roland Juno 106s

    • Hi Rich,

      Yes these are good. I especially heard that the analogue renaissance chips are good for “live use” of the Juno 106 as they fit more snug in the sockets.

      I’ll likely go with Allen at the Synthspa though as his custom job on my other 106 sounds great. He does a lot of other work on the chip board besides the chips which is great too.

      Currently I’m trying to diagnose and figure out how to fix a pulsating static noise with the chorus on the Juno 106S I just purchased. Indeed these chorus units are noisy, but this is definitely not normal compared to my other Juno. I’m thinking I may need to replace the IC chips, specifically the MN3009, but I’ll have to take the output board out first to examine it more closely.

      Thanks for the info and visiting my blog. Much appreciated.

      Jim :)

  1. I created an audio file of the Juno 106S Chorus problem I am having. You can have a listen here:

    http://jimatwood.net/synth/Juno106-Chorus-Crackle.WMA

    I’m not sure if this is an MN3009/MN3101 Chip problem or an opamp problem or something else. Likely I’ll be sending in my Output Jack board to the Synthspa for Allen to have a look at. Hopefully it’s fixable. Note that today I took the boards out and gave them a good dusting. When I put the boards back in, the Chorus problem went away for about 5 minutes and then returned. Before that though, the 106 hadn’t been turned on for over 24 hours, so I’m guessing the chorus was ok due to the Juno being cold.

    Again note that when the Chorus effect is turned off, the crackle sound goes completely away.

    Just FYI for anyone with a similar issue. I’ll update this article as I get updates. Thanks!

    • Hi Rich,

      Thanks for the reply. I put the Juno in voice mode and the chorus still exhibits the same pulsating crackle noise. The six voices all check out pretty good however they are still covered in the black resin wrapping so I know it’s only a matter of time before they crap out. I plan to take care of those shortly. Hopefully I can get the chorus straightened out with some replacement chips. I agree with your idea that the crackle noise in the sound file is likely from faulty MN3009/MN3101 chips.

  2. Just sent Roland Juno 106S insides to Allen @ TheSynthSpa today. We’ll see what the Chorus problem is shortly.

    I sent the following:

    1. Voice Chip Board ( 6 voice chips )
    2. Panel Board
    3. Jack Board along with the Midi Jack Board
    4. CPU board

  3. Also the following are available at Synthparts.com. I may need these. The Ebay seller above has some negative reviews floating around some of the synth forums.

    MN3009 BBD $20
    MN3101 BBD Clock/Driver $7

  4. Hi Jim

    I have two Juno 106’s to repair. One is missing IC5. I guess it was removed.

    If I send my board to the Synth Spa will they replace all the six IC’s with the new ones? If yes how much?

    thx
    rich wirth
    customcomp
    Canada
    ,

    • Hi Rich,

      You might have to email Allen @ Synthspa to see if he can “replace” the IC5 chip. I know he does replace everything that already exists on the board. I also know that he can find missing parts so it’s highly likely he will be able to find the missing IC5. You need to email in advance for availability. I’m kind of doing that already on mine with one of the Chorus chips and he was able to find a replacement.

      Thanks!

      Jim

      • Allen sorted out everything on the board including the IC5. Both boards were pristine when returned and functioned perfectly.

Leave a Reply

