Behringer Vintage Distortion VD1 for Synthesizers

Vintage Distortion VD1
Vintage Distortion VD1

I found this neat used pedal for five bucks today called the Behringer Vintage Distortion VD1. I hooked it up to my Korg Poly-61 and found the distortion I’ve been looking for to phatten up some of the sounds. I understand one has to be careful of the build and sound quality of Behringer, but I was pleasantly surprised at how decent it sounded with my analog synths. I think the VD-1 distortion is suppose to emulate the Big Muff Distortion in some way, but since I’ve never used a Big Muff, I can’t comment whether that is correct or not. Likely it doesn’t if I had to place my bets.

Still though, the VD-1 is pretty cool for adding some flavor to your synth sounds or if you just want to dirty them up a bit while retaining the underlying sound. I found the VD-1 was not that muddy at all really. You do need to watch the reverb though as VD-1 distortion can trail a bit which can give the synth sound a bad “after taste” I like to call it. Unless you are looking for that I find running the distortion along with minimal effects on the synth voice to sound the best.

One thing I’m not sure about is whether this pedal is analog or not. I just got it and a quick search on Google didn’t turn up any info. If I find out I’ll post an update here. Overall the Behringer Vintage Distortion VD-1 is pretty decent for synthesizer use. Please feel free to add your experiences with this pedal and synthesizers.

One thought on “Behringer Vintage Distortion VD1 for Synthesizers

  1. If it’s to replicate a Muff, it’ll be analog. Behringer calls it a “vintage distortion”. AND… as you state, running a synth through something nasty is a studio trick. If you suddenly find something by Electro Harmonix, just go for it – anything goes and can be useful for synths… and of course guitars. Nothing digital can reproduce (even if trying hard) the kind of lo-fi sound these antiques have.

Leave a Reply

