Korg Triton Rack With Internal CF Flash Card Drive

Korg Triton Rack
Korg Triton Rack

Today I ventured over to a nearby Mom and Pop used music shop in Nagano-city, Japan. It’s a fun place, but I rarely go there because their turn around with second hand goods is rather slow, so I hardly see much new stuff there. However, today I decided to check things out as it had been about three months since my last visit. Well, I’m glad I did because to my surprise they had a “mint” condition Korg Triton Rack sitting on the counter ready to be entered into their used inventory. I asked the guy behind the counter how much they were selling it for and he had no idea. He went back and asked another guy who quickly looked it up on the computer. He came back and said $250. I said SOLD!!

When I got home I inspected the Korg Triton Rack and sure enough it was in fantastic condition with no scratches or any sign of wear. In fact, the adapter looked like it had never been used. Now, I already have a Korg Triton Classic as discussed in a previous entry on my blog, but I told myself that if I ever saw a Korg Triton Rack I would pick it up because frankly, I have too many keyboards and can’t have them all setup at the same time. I figured with the Triton Rack, I could then tuck away the Triton Classic. So, I was really excited to find the Triton Rack and consolidate my gear a bit. The Korg Triton Rack came with the power adapter, manuals, and some backup floppy disks. Options already installed on the unit were (1) EXB-SCSI SCSI Interface Board, and (2) 96MB of Ram! Awesome!

One of the first things I decided to do was to move the internal Compact Flash Card drive from my Triton Classic over to the Triton Rack. It fit perfectly and connected right up to the EXB-SCSI SCSI Interface Board without any problems at all. I powered up the Triton Rack and got the familiar “Unformatted Drive” error, but quickly used the Jog Wheel to adjust from Floppy Drive to the other option which was the Compact Flash Drive. Now everything works fine. I then put the Triton Rack floppy drive back into the Triton Classic for future use. I also moved both of my PCM Expansion Boards which I had in the Classic over to the Triton Rack. I currently have EXB-PCM01 Pianos/Classic Keyboards and EXB-PCM03 Future Loop Construction. I’m not sure yet if I plan to get others or not but it’s nice to know I now have six more slots available.

Everything works beautifully on the Triton Rack. I am really looking forward to checking out the sampling capabilities more and make better use of the Arps plus RPPR functions. This evening I had a blast sifting through some of the Combis on the unit and it’s definitely a fun piece of gear.

12 thoughts on “Korg Triton Rack With Internal CF Flash Card Drive

  1. J

    Hi, Jim

    You find ALOT of great deals over there in Japan. It would be so great if you could share those deals with me!!!!

    The used to own the Triton Classic (88-key), but I upgraded to the m3 (which I love). In recent months I too was looking for a Triton Rack. $250 is a steal. Congrats. I hope you have time to utilize all the great gear you have.

    Have Fun!!!

    1. Thanks! I often think about listing items I find on Ebay, but the shipping and handling from Japan to anywhere overseas is both expensive and not easy to handle. Selling from within Japan is a whole other ballgame as well. Fortunately I enjoy playing and working with music instruments so I can get something out of it. A few reasons I get good deals in Japan I think is because I live in the countryside, visit second-hand shops very often, and try to research items as much as possible. Often there are lots of great gear items in stores but people don’t know what they are, so the more I know the more I find it seems. Product knowledge and timing are key! It helps also that the Japanese take care of their stuff quite well, probably at the sacrifice of playing it … laugh. Have a great weekend! – Jim

  2. Just finished creating my first Multsample using Awave Studio and it works awesome!! Awave allows you to load up samples from just about anything. I then create a multisample on the PC which can later be converted to .PCG and .KSC files for loading into the Korg Triton Rack. I just did an SP1200 Drum Multisample and it played back beautifully on the Rack. Fun stuff!!

  3. Wow! The RPPR function on the Korg Triton Rack is simply awesome. All day yesterday I was creating some grooves with multisamples, midi files, and creating my own layered jams. I heard RPPR was a predominantly unused function and I kind of understand why because there are a couple of difficult things to wrap your head around. Once you get the hang of it though, you can create all kinds of grooves and you don’t even need to use the arps, although I definitely will incorporate them of course.

    Using multiple midi channels and patterns, you can assign different patterns with different programs to different keys. For example, I had the following going on in a test run yesterday.

    C1 = Drum Pattern with Drum Kit Program
    C#1 = Bass Line recorded in real time with 16 measures.
    D1 = Strings background

    I then had a layer of EP to play over the top of the 3 RPPR groove. I could start and/or stop any of the RPPR patterns.

    The Korg Triton Rack does not have a Sequencer many people say, but by using RPPR I find that statement to be false. The Korg Triton Rack does have a very good sequencer in the form of RPPR. Think of RPPR as realtime live pattern tracks and a MULTI as the “song”. When you call up the MULTI you will instantly get all of your assigned RPPR patterns recorded for that MULTI. All you need to do is start,stop, and manipulate the patterns while you play your melody, chords, and/or solo over the top.

    RPPR is very easy to do and very powerful. Once you have that down, you can even add two ARP sections to the MULTI and expand even further. Those are also programmable just like a pattern sequencer.

    Thus in my book, the Korg Triton Rack does have a very POWERFUL Sequencer in the form of RPPR, ARP, and MIDI data import. In fact, you can sequence all of your MIDI patterns in Sonar or Cubase and then easily import them into RPPR patterns to be assigned to a MULTI. Presto, your song (MULTI) is ready to be played live!!!

    In fact, RPPR and ARP is maybe better than a standard Sequencer because you have the “LIVE” element to work with. Standard sequencers often just have Playback and that’s it. Note that with RPPR you can effectively and easily mute tracks by pressing the key again.

    Sure there are some limitations and workarounds, but honestly I’ve worked with a lot of sequencers and I actually prefer creating tracks the RPPR and ARP way much better. The third way I like is simple audio sampling of tracks which the Korg Triton Rack can do as well.

    Plus I didn’t even get into the fact that you can load up a complete multisample which might include a drum, bass, and synth section which can be applied to RPPR. It’s like creating an entire construction kit via multisampling.

    If you haven’t checked out RPPR, then you’re missing something very special with the Korg Triton Rack!!

  4. I currently have the following EXB expansion boards in the Korg Triton Rack now.

    KORG EXB-PCM01 Pianos/Classic Keyboards
    KORG EXB-PCM03 Future Loop Construction
    KORG EXB-PCM04 Dance Extreme
    Korg EXB-PCM05 Vintage Archives

    I’m considering the following two in the near future but am not sure.

    Korg EXB-PCM02 Studio Essentials
    Korg EXB-PCM09 Trance Attack

    Plus the following two below I don’t know if I need since I primarily am into Jazz, Funk, Gospel, and RnB.

    KORG EXB-PCM06 EXB-PCM07 Orchestral Collection
    KORG EXB-PCM08 Concert Grand Piano

    Anybody have any suggestions or comments about any of the above Korg EXB-PMC expansion boards? Are there any you particularly like and/or dislike?

    There is also the Korg EXB-MOSS Expansion Board which is available as well, but is still pretty expensive. I don’t think I need that at the current asking price. Anyone with thoughts or experience on that board would be greatly appreciated as well.

    Thanks! – Jim

  5. Hi Jim… seems I’ve seen your writing before… my name is Duncan, live in Tokyo, have a studio in my house, which I’ve scaled down after moving into this smaller place… Korg M361; Triton Rack; Wavestation AD (which was the 1st rack) interested in the RPPR function which I’ve never used… trying to get info/tutorials on it is proving to be tough! you mentioned loading a complete multisample which is what I want to do… if you have time/energy, send me your number and I’ll call, if that’s amenable with you… thanks! db

  6. Marco

    Hello Jim,

    Been reading your blog and I just scored a Triton Rack for $250.00 here in the U.S., as a bonus it came loaded with EXB-PCM02 and EXB-PCM03, so that was really cool. I need to find a EXB-SCSI card, mine did not have that installed. Anyway I am just now getting into synthesizers, I’m more of a guitar player, but I am having a lot of fun learning this Triton Rack. The MOSS board would be so cool to have but I agree its a bit expensive right now. I highly recommend the EXB-02 and EXB-03 modules, get them if you can find them.

    Marco

  7. Dyfan Alvin

    Hello Jim, I’m Alvin from Surabaya, Indonesia.

    I’m interested in installing CF Flash Card Drive to my Triton Rack. Can it possibly be done without EXB-SCSI expansion since I can’t find it anywhere here in Indonesia?

    1. Hello Alvin. Unfortunately you need the SCSI expansion. They are on Ebay quite a bit and sometimes even from Japan. You should be able to get one unless you can’t use Ebay for some reason.

Leave a Reply

