Yamaha SY77 Music Synthesizer

Yamaha SY77 Music Synthesizer
Yamaha SY77 Music Synthesizer

The day following my purchase of the Yamaha V50, I took a drive over to another used music store that I usually visit about twice a month. I was stunned to see sitting on top of a shelf a vintage Yamaha SY77 in excellent condition. It had a hard shell case and inserted into the card slot was an MCD64 64K Memory Card. The pice tag was $100 bucks. I took it down from the shelf and quickly decided to give it a whirl to see how nice it sounded. As expected, it sounded great.

Just one day before I had found a fantastic Yamaha V50. One of the things I wanted was a memory card for it, so I got onto Ebay and checked around. As exepcted I found a couple of MCD64 memory cards, but they were at least $75 plus an extra $35 or so for shipping to Japan. You can imagine what I was thinking when I saw the MCD64 memory card sticking out of the Yamaha SY77. In my mind, I basically bought the memory card and got a Yamaha SY77 synthesizer for free…laugh. Seriously, that’s what I thought.

When I got home with the Yamaha SY77 I noticed that it was extremely heavy. This thing is built like a tank and it weighs like one as well. Throw a hard shell case in with it and you have some major ball busting to carry this around. I don’t know if I’ll be lugging it on the stage, but I can certainly say it will fit nicely in the home studio. It’s a big synth, but the keys feel great and really solid just like the Yamaha DX7.

A couple of notable problem areas on these Yamaha SY77 synthesizers are (a) the LCD fading out and (b) the floppy disk drive failing due to broken drive belts. In my case, the LCD was just fine. However, my floppy drive was indeed not working. I opened up the synth and took a look inside. As expected ( and hoping ), the floppy drive had a broken belt. The rubber stuff was luckily easy to clean off in my case and quickly I scrounged up a rubber band to replace the floppy drive belt temporarily. I needed to check and see if the floppy drive was operational or whether there was an additional problem.

I put the Yamaha SY77 back together with the floppy drive fixed using a rubber band. I started it up and decided to format a new floppy disk. Awesome! The floppy drive worked like a charm. Now I can just order a new floppy belt off of Ebay and know that will fix it for quite a while. I don’t know if just using the rubber band will be stable enough long term. I was happy that I didn’t have to pay $85 from Floppy Drive Solutions for a new floppy drive, although I may do that in the future if I use the drive a lot. Right now, transferring voice banks from the computer via midi is the way to go. I can also use the MCD64 Memory Card for adding extra banks to the SY77.

All in all it was a great day and a nice surprise to come home with a really nice Yamaha SY77 to go along with the Yamaha V50 from yesterday. After playing both synths, I must say that the sequencer, drum machine, and raw edgy synth sound of the Yamaha V50 is pretty cool and unique. However, the incredible power of the Yamaha SY77 Synthesizer is simply awesome. I haven’t tried the sequencer yet, but it looks great and of course it’s a Yamaha. They have probably the best sequencers. What I like the best about both synths are the keys themselves. They are so nice to play and are very sturdy.

If anyone has any questions about the Yamaha SY77 or Yamaha V50, please feel free to comment or send me an email anytime. Thanks and enjoy!

31 thoughts on “Yamaha SY77 Music Synthesizer

  1. Jigar

    Hi.
    I have SY 77.
    My display is not working, i mean only light is not working. Content-Character i can see.
    So where can i buy the display?
    LCD: 240 x 64 pixels (with backlight)
    Waiting for ur reply.
    Thanks.

    1. Hi there! I’m not exactly sure where you get the materials for the regular LCD but I know this thread here will most like give you all the info you need. http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=54&t=1843

      Currently I am going the “Blue LCD” route so that I can see the screen better in the dark. Plus many SY77 boards including mine have a slight whine or hum in the outputs which can be stopped by disconnecting the “inverter” inside, but only if the “Blue LCD” options is installed. Again the link above will explain all about it.

      Blue LCD Yamaha SY77

      In you have any other questions, please let me know. Thanks!

      Jim

  2. George Savvas

    Hi there!
    I was surprised to read your article, because I recently bought a SY-77 [really heavy stuff – and I mean as hardware, too] myself and I have some questions. I don’t know if you could help me, but I ‘ll try it!
    -Can you suggest me a good sustain pedal compatible with this? I really need it and I have found some very good stuff on Thomann [the Roland RPU-3 concert piano pedal], but I am not sure about the compatibility.
    -Also, I want to buy a good Delay pedal [probably MXR], because i play Floyd Stuff and I need it. Do you know if there’s some compatibility issue about that, too? But i think it’s ok [a Boss delay worked just fine]
    Because I don’t know very many things on the synth matter, could you please help me by suggesting some ways, some peripherals, anything, that could help me have awesome sound with that workstation?
    Waiting for your reply.
    Thank you in advance!

    1. Hello George!

      Thanks for visiting my blog and for your comments. Indeed the Yamaha SY77 is a tank and extremely heavy.

      I use a regular stock Yamaha Sustain Pedal for my Yamaha SY77 and it works well for my purposes. I understand totally that sustain pedals can be quite sensitive for piano/keyboard players, especially for those who are very accomplished players. Sorry I can’t help you much on the Sustain Pedal topic, but perhaps others may comment in the near future about their experiences.

      I think you can use any sort of Delay pedal really and with regards to which is the best, that is highly subjective I think. In my case, I use the Boss GT-5 pedal board which is sufficient for I what I do. I’m also a guitar player and can use it for that as well. Heck, Mr. George Duke just completed a Sample CD set called “George Duke Soul Treasures” where I saw him using a Boss GT-5 with the Rhodes. There was a video on the Native Instruments website. So I suppose it must have some charm in it even though it’s vintage if I can call it that by now.

      I can say MXR is an excellent brand and you can’t go wrong with their delays. I use their Phaser pedals and love them.

      Take it easy and enjoy!

      Regards,
      Jim Atwood

  3. Michael Lazenby

    Lucky Guy! I bought an SY55 new, which has the same engine as the 77 I believe. I sold it in 94 when I got married for $600 and almost a day hasn’t gone by when I don’t wish I had kept it. I’m looking for vst recreations, as I’d like to rerecord some songs and just haven’t been able to duplicate some of those voices. Cheers.

    1. Julie

      I have an SY 77 that has a warning on the display that the internal battery is weak. Would anyone know where to get the battery? Or would you like to buy the synthesizer?

    2. SY55 is very different model of SY product line compared to SY77.
      One could say that it’s about half the same because whole FM section is missing.
      And because many buy SY77/TG/SY99 mainly because of its Advanced FM synthesis (AFM) their opinion probably is that they are not same at all.

      In my use emphasis in sound design is 100% AFM and i do nothing with the samples.

      Then again, SY77 and SY99 has good keyboard action and i use it for learning purposes like some occasional keyboard practises.. . then it’s sample based piano sounds come to use.

  4. Hi There

    Thanks for a useful and informantive blog – I’ve been playing synths for around 30 years now, however I only recently became a convert to the Yamaha sound, principally because of the Motif ES series. I now want to add a new board to the live rig. (I’m old fashioned I’d rather have multiple boards than a controller and rack units). This has led me to research some units only to find that the current crop really have nothing to offer and so I am looking retrospective and seriously thinking about the SY77 / 99. I’m also considering the EX series too.

    So my question is; How does it sound to your ears? – some folks say it is rather thin and samey, though my impressions based on Youtube clips is that it actually has a wide and versatile pallette, I’d be really curious on your view. I must say I was never a huge fan of FM (except for the EPs and the syn brass – I know the last one’s weird but hey that’s just me!) However some of the FM progs I’ve heard from the SY have caused me to re-evaluate.

    As I say I’m curious on your view and thank you for your consideration.

    All the best Steve

    1. Hi Steve! Thanks for visiting my blog. Much appreciated.

      With regards to the FM lineup, I currently own the following keyboards. Yamaha DX7MK1, DX7IID, SY-77, PLG150-DX, EX5 ( Not much FM in it ), and finally a 4-operator V50. When I was a boy in high school, I owned a Yamaha DX7 in 85-86. I graduated in 86. Thus I have “grown” to like the FM sound and have always had a place for it in my setup. With that said, I know it’s all subjective and that there are quite a few people who don’t really care for it.

      With regards to your search. Number 1, I would go for the SY-99. I don’t have one only because I haven’t found one in Japan. In my opinion, the SY-99 has slightly more features such as sampling. I’m perfectly happy with the SY-77 and still recommend it if you can’t find an SY-99. In fact, I now have other sampling options so perhaps the SY-99 is no longer necessary for me if I think about it. On the DX7 front, I preferred at first the MKI for it’s lo-fi warm”ish” sound, but ultimately I have come to like the DX7IID a little better. The split and layering capabilities of the DX7IID are awesome! Plus there is less background noise due to it being 16 bit and cleaner.

      With the DX7IID and the SY-77 you can layer FM sounds. This creates a fatter sound for me and reduces the “samey” effect very well. I have come to learn that layering the FM sounds if you can do it, will really give you a great sound. It’s not thin at all in that regard. In fact I am looking for a second PLG150-DX board for my Motif ES rack so that I can layer DX sounds in that as well. I have two PLG15-AN’s in my Yamaha CS6r which as shown me there is a lot you can do with “dual” PLG boards. So having two DX boards in the Rack ES is kind of like the DX7IID but with the ability to use the ES effect processor and maybe more. Polyphony would improve as well.

      Yes, any FM sound can easily sound metalic, thin, tinny, bright, bell”ish”, and down right “80’s”… laugh. You no doubt may find yourself tweaking some of the sounds more or adding effects to warm things up. You also may find yourself spending a few evenings combing through the hundreds of patches on the internet for all these boards. In the end, you WILL find fantastic sounds and it is worth it. I love the FM sound when it’s done right ( to my ears ), and to me it’s a sound I can’t live without. It also can sound “samey” as you put it absolutely. Sometimes I go through patches that to me all sound similar but have drastically different names. This is mostly true with the Yamaha DX7 boards. The SY-77 with the added operators and functionality is probably better about being more different. There are very “different” patches out there though and if you have trouble finding them, please email me and I’ll send you some of mine.

      Personally, there are enough patches out there that you can easily build a 32-64 bank sound collection that is very fat, different, and exciting. If everyone who had a DX7 did that, I think they would be amazed at how cool these boards still are. I also heard form somewhere and I tend to agree that the FM sound does pretty well at cutting through a mix. In fact, I think that this is a common trait with most of the Yamaha lineup.

      If you have any further questions, please let me know. I’d be more than happy to expand on anything I’ve said or offer more info if interested. I’m not an authority on the FM Yamaha boards, but I do like them and use them.

      Regards, Jim

  5. Jim. Thank you very much for your detailed and most helpful response, as a result I am currently hunting either a SY77 or 99. I was also sold in part by this video:

    demoing the SY99 with mainly FM sounds… I don’t know if it is just me but they seemed to have an almost D50 feel about them, yet being quite different at the same time.
    But I have yet another couple of queries if you would be so kind as to indulge them.
    Both are relating to the differences between the 77 & 99 – so I realise that you may not be able to comment completely, but anything you can add would be of immense interest to me. Firstly opinions seem to differ regarding RCM (Realtime Convolution Modelling) some folks suggest that this feature is unique to the 99 and yet some say it is on both and that the only difference between the two instruments is the Keyboard and the sampling capability. Secondly looking at the specs on Vintage Synth Explorer, they suggest that the 77 has 4 effects units whereas the 99 has only two, furthermore there seem to be a number of comments regarding the quality or rather the lack thereof in the effects on the 77. I realise that the second one in particular is somewhat subjective and that you cannot comment on the 99’s FX sound, however what comparisons would you make to them alongside other Yamaha gear that you own. I have seen it suggested that the effects on both boards are similar to that of the SPX90 again is this, in your opinion, a valid comparison?
    Thank you so much for your patience I really appreciate any advice. Just for your reference I principally play in a prog rock band though I do get involved in a myriad of diverse projects. I find myself in a position of having to replace my two Roland synths and I have been a stalwart Roland user for most of my performing life and yet I’m beginning to think that an SY and an EX are far more appealing not to mention more cost effective solution than a new Fantom. Having also only just recently heard CS6x I am even considering if a completely Yamaha rig could be a serious possibility.
    All the best Steve

  6. adlai

    This is really good information on this blog! I own the sy77 and the sy99 and think that the 77 has a grittier sound which I find appealing.

    I do have a question though. How do you set up splits on the keyboard? For instance I would like a piano sound on the left and a brass sound on the right or organ/piano.

    It seems like the board can only be set to transmit on one midi channel, but if you plug a midi cable into the midi in/out.. you can get it to transfer the signal.

    I would like to have the option of using these boards LIVE but need to be able to do splits and layers. Thanks!

  7. kim

    Hello Jim, i live in Japan also since a few months and i found a cheap v50… mine doesn’t look perfect but it s working… 😉
    I would like to know what kind of ROM sound card should we use with this synth? can we the same as the sy77?
    Another question…do you know if there s a software kind of like DX manager to control the v50 from your PC and send new patches in it?
    and the last one is it possible to import from the floppy disk some sysex that you have load from your PC?
    Thank you for your answer and this dope blog! Respect

  8. Hello Kim,

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Here are some answers to your questions.

    1. You can use either the Yamaha MCD32 or MCD64 memory cards for the Yamaha V50. They both work.

    2. The only reliable software I’ve used to transfer and edit patches on the Yamaha V50 is the YSEDITOR with Steem Atari ST Emulator. You can check it out my post here about it: https://jimatwood.wordpress.com/2010/09/14/yamaha-v50-yseditor-steem-atari/

    3. Yes, you can import sounds from your PC to a floppy and import it into the Yamaha V50. It requires you create floppy images and transfer that way. With my V50, a set of floppies came with it and I was able to back up the images via the PC. I remember it being a complicated process though, so I recommend using YSEDITOR and then use the V50 to create a floppy disk. It’s much easier.

    If you haven’t seen my original post on the V50, you can check it out here:

    https://jimatwood.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/yamaha-v50-digital-synthesizer/

    Hope this info help! The Yamaha V50 is a really cool synth, especially having the drum machine and sequencer all in one.

    1. kim

      Jim you are a real gentleman! Thank you sooo much for your answer!
      I got to say that i couldn’ t stop reading all the posts of your blog! You’re a real synth digger, and i totally agree with that spirit of buying in recycle shop and get suprised by an instrument you wouldn’t have buy normally!You must have a craaaazy home studio…Is there somewhere where i can check your music?
      I’ve also check Synth in Jap! Great job man!!! Please keep it up and let’ s stay in touch…Respect

  9. RobertATunes

    Hey, Hey, Jim:

    Lucky for many of us you did this blog. Very informative. I also got my SY77 brand new 20+ years ago just for recording. And though I used to tour during the late ’80s with some of the early ’60s artists on nostalgia shows, I only used my SY77 once because like you said it is built like a tank. Plus, it was “my baby” and so it had the best of care by keeping it safe at home. 🙂

    However, I quit the biz in 1990 and put it in storage for the past 20+ years. But a minor recording that was done back in the ’70s resurfaced in Chicago recently and I got an offer from a music library to consider it for TV and film soundtracks, so I’ve looked into that industry and now I’m very excited to get into doing music again.

    So I pulled out the SY77 and all is fine except that floppy drive. I hope it’s like you mentioned, just a belt.

    My question is, was it difficult to take apart and put back together and put the rubber band in, etc? And did you ever buy a new floppy drive, and if so, where? I’ve got diskettes from 20 years ago with music I can’t access.

    Thanks in advance for any feedback.

    VERY APPRECIATIVELY – Robert A.

    1. Hello Robert. Thanks for visiting my blog.

      I remember the Yamaha SY77 being actually quite easy to open up and work with. Changing the LCD was a bit involved having to dig through a few layers of PCB boards, but with regards to the Floppy Drive it actually is very easy. In fact, if I remember correctly you can access it from inside without having to remove any components other than the Drive and possibly a bracket. It’s pretty intuitive.

      Indeed either a similar sized rubberband or a drive belt found on Ebay can fix the Floppy Drive if it’s still operational. I tested mine first with a postal rubberband I had and it worked. I then bought a belt from Ebay but I know some people who continue to use the rubberband. They are “kind of” the same thing I suppose.

      If you need to completely replace the Floppy Drive, you can almost always find them available on Ebay. You may have to spend $50-100 for one but it will likely be beltless and stable for a number of years. I still have my original drive in the SY77 with a Belt I purchased off Ebay. It works great although it still “sounds” old … laugh.

      Just search on Ebay with “Yamaha SY77” and you’ll see some floppy drive and belt listings.

      Of all my syths, I have found the Yamaha SY-77 one of the easiest to open up and disassemble/assemble again. It just adds to the charm!

      Hope this helps and feel free to ask any further questions if needed. Thanks!

      Best regards,

      Jim Atwood

  10. RobertATunes

    Hey there again, Jim:

    Thanks tons for all that great feedback and input.

    You’re a God!!! 🙂

    I feel inspired and confident with solutions aleady to move forward and get things going and get busy with music projects again.

    Best regards to you always,

    Robert

  11. carlos sanchez

    Hi JIm, I feel very positive on all your comments about FM synths and I have a dilema that I hope you help to make up my mind. I had been always a huge fan of DX7II but I never had the chance to buy one till now. And here comes the problem: DX7 vs SY77 which one to choose? I love the FM Rhodes electric piano on the DX7 and this will be my main sound. I heard some patches from SY77 but no so close to what I am looking for. However, is possible to recreate this sound on the SY77? I know that SY77 has tone of voices very impressive and electric pianos very useful… Can You give me some advise? Am I making a mistake looking for this electric piano in the SY77? I love both…

    Best regards to you always,

    elmusico40

    1. A lot of people swear by the Yamaha SY77 as the better synthesizer and in many ways it is, however, I am a person who “HAS TO HAVE” a DX7 in the studio. The DX7mkI is may favorite because I actually prefer the 12 bit sound, but the DX7MKII is a close second. The SY77 is a similar but very different synth as well. What I like more about the SY77 is the functionality such as the extra programming abilities, sequencer, and effects. I think if you are looking for particular DX7 sound, I would most definitely get a DX7 ( I or II ) first. If you are interested more in functionality and programming, then I would get the SY77. I currently have the DX7mkI, DX7II, and SY-77. I play the DX7II the most but like the sound of the 12 bit DX7 original the best. I use the SY77 over the other two for song creation the most due to the sequencer. Note that the original DX7mkI can be a tad bit noisy so I use a Boss NS-2 Noise Suppressor which works great. If correct, the DX7II is 16 bit with a cleaner sound. The dual layer ability of the DX7II is wonderful. For your situation, I would recommend the Yamaha DX7II. It’s simply a must have synth in my opinion.

      1. carlos

        Hi there again Jim:
        Thank You very much for all the feedback…
        However I forgot to ask you something else… Due the economy and lack of jobs, to find a DX7IIFD clean and good working keyboard and not to expensive hasn’t benn easy; I found the DX7s very good for my wallet at this moment. My question is would I be able to get the same DX7 rhodes electric piano sound quality as is on the DX7II? I really need a keyboard to play it in my church which is pretty much the sound I am looking for…
        I will appreciate any opinion and thank You very much for your time… You are a Gentleman… God bless

        elmusico40

      2. Hi there,

        If there is a sound you like on the Yamaha DX7II, I’m afraid it will likely sound a bit different on the original DXYmkI for several reasons.

        1. Noise! The original DX7 is 12 bit versus 16 bit on the DX7II. This translates to a warmer sound ( I feel ) on the original DX7 BUT you will get some background noise. The way around this is to use a noise suppressor which obviously will add to the expense. The DX7II will sound much cleaner and more quiet.

        2. The Original DX7 does not have dual layers. I know in Gospel music for example layering sounds can be very important. You will not be able t o achieve this with the original DX7. If a sound on the DX7II is layered you will also not be able to emulate the patch because the original DX7 can only play one layer at a time. It’s easier to go from DX7 to DX7II rather than the other way.

        3. Detuning. Since the DX7II has dual layers, you can detune and get a chorusing effect. The original DX7 will require effects, especially for live use. It’s rather dry without it. The DX7II usually requires effects too so perhaps about the same here.

        Basically the sounds on both DX7 keyboards are the exact same. It’s the dual layer, 12 bit vs.16 bit, and background noise that will be the main difference. If you know for sure that the Piano sound you are looking for is only one layer and not dual than the DX7 should work fine absolutely as the voices are identical. The noise is not that bad either and in many cases you may not recognize it at all. I use headphones so I tend to notice it a tiny bit.

        The DX7 is a really good keyboard. As someone who understands a bit about Gospel Music and RnB though, I might still have to recommend the DX7II simply because of the layering possibilities. Layering a Piano and a Strings patch is very nice on the DX7II.

        Hope this helps.

        Jim

  12. Kelly

    I Jim,
    I bought my SY77 brand new in the winter of 89′ from a Yamaha dealer in Japan. My question is, do all SY77’s have batteries in them? I have seen pictures of SY77’s on the internet with the bottom cover off which shows the battery mounted in one of the circuit boards exposed. I recently had the cover off of my own SY77 when I was changing the belt on the disk drive and I did not see a battery in any of the circuit boards that were visible. Also, a low battery warning has never came on the screen before, nor is any functions of my keyboard not working properly, as I think I read somewhere on the internet that when the battery needs to be replaced, there are some type of symptoms that effect performance of the keyboard. I would like to change the battery on my SY77 since it’s 23 years old now, but unable to locate it, and thus questioning if all SY77’s were designed to require the 3 volt battery in them, which mine doesn’t seem to have.

    Thanks,

    Kelly

    1. Your SY77 does have a CR2032 3v lithium battery (all SY77s have one) and at 23 years old it is likely due for replacement soon. If I remember correctly the battery is on the other side of one of the circuit boards you are looking at when you open the bottom of the SY77. You can purchase a replacement battery with solder tags already attached so you can avoid the dangerous process of trying to solder on the battery itself, the other option is to install a battery holder to make the next battery change a simple remove and replace. The battery in my SY77 was changed during routine service when it was about five years old and has been good ever since, unfortunately I need to change some batteries in my SY99 at this point, it has seven CR2032s in it, one for the synth, one for the factory sample ram, and one in each of the five SYEMB05 ram boards that were installed.
      Clyde

      DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.

      1. Kelly

        Thanks for the information Clyde. So if my SY77 needs a battery, why is there no issues at all with the way that my SY77 performs? I was under the assumption that when these batteries need to be replaced, some type of functionality of the keyboard is lost. I guess this will be my little weekend project, to remove the bottom panel and hunt for the battery.

        What is the purpose of the SY77 having the battery? In what way does the battery serve this keyboard?

        Thanks,

        Kelly

  13. Kelly, there a ram slots for user voices (internal voices), when you edit a voice and store it in a user slot or load a bank of sounds to the user slots, the ram battery is what keeps that data there when you turn off the keyboard. There are also settings you can change (such as utility settings) that are stored in ram, same situation with those. If the SY77 did not have a battery to hold the data in the ram chip, then you would have to reload the voices and settings every time you turned the keyboard on. I can also tell you that when these batteries start to go bad, you can get all sorts of bizarre keyboard behavior that would not seem to be related to the battery, but it is. Perhaps your battery is OK at this point, if you bought the keyboard used it may have already had a battery replacement before you bought it. There are test procedures on the SY77 that can allow you to check the battery voltage. Hope this helps.
    Clyde

    1. Kelly McManus

      Awesome Clyde,

      Thank you for this information. I actually purchased this SY77 brand new while living in Japan, so I know a battery inside of it has never been replaced. And it has been the case when I use a voice card and then turned off the keyboard, I have to reload the voices from the card again once I turned the keyboard back on to continue working on the song. I’ve been doing that for so long now, I just thought that it was standard operating procedure. Good to know what the real deal is and now I will work on locating the battery and then go from there to get it replaced. Thank you again for the great information.

      Cheers,

      Kelly

      1. You should not have to load the card voices unless you want to edit and save them to the internal user slots. When in Voice Play Mode you have four voice memory locations to choose from, Internal (user), Card, Preset 1, and Preset 2, simply select which bank you want to choose voices from and select that bank.
        Clyde

        DX7IIFD, SY77, SY99, Hammond C3, Steinway L, CP300, AW1600, etc.

  14. Hi Jim, I have a V50 and a SY77 too, I am trying to get a Fender Rhodes sound or at least a good electric piano sound out of the SY77 but not having much luck, have you any ideas on how I could do this. I am using it live to play a jazz/R&B number by Joss Stone called Jetlag.

  15. hi Jim, I am in Japan at the moment and wondered if you might know where I can source a SY99 aftertouch ribbon? Such parts are becoming very rare indeed and i wondered if there might be somewhere in tokyo, with the last remaining stocks. thanks

  16. RT Brooks

    Jim,
    I have a SY77 that is in pristine condition but last year the upper octave stopped producing sound and a week or so later the bottom octave did the same thing. I was emailing the guys in UK for advice that has the Yamaha forum but they did not have any advice on what may be the problem as they had never seen that problem before. I spoke with the tech here and was told to spray contact spray on those two octave of keys after removing the back of the case but that did not help either. Any ideas on what is going on with the keyboard. Thanks, in advance!

Leave a Reply

