Old Roland 80017A and MC-5534A Chips Removed

Here are two examples of Roland Juno 106 80017A and MC-5534A Chips Removed. The 80017A is the Roland Juno 106 Voice Chip. Note that the pins are broken from the removal process. I know there is a way to rejuvenate these old chips by removing the black resin cover, but I didn’t think I would need to do this given that I recently purchased brand new Analogue Renaissance Clone Chips. However, those do not work after installation into my Juno 106 board, so I kind of wish I had pursued that avenue first to save money or to at least test to see if an original would work. I recommend hopping over to Youtube and looking up the process before buying new chips like I did.

The Second chip pictured below is a removed MC-5534A Filter Chip from the Juno 106. This was removed because it was failing and I had received a new clone model from Analogue Renaissance, however, again there is no way at the moment to determine if it works because the Voice Chips around it from Analogue Renaissance don’t work. Board problem? Maybe so and I’m currently looking into it. Solder problem? Always possible, but I had a good soldering expert do the work, so it’s unlikely, but again possible. Just no solid answer on that yet.

Old Juno 106 Voice and Filter Chips

Juno 106 IC Voice and Filter Chips

A couple of weeks ago I notice a lot of eight 80017A original Voice Chips were sold on Ebay from Belgium for a little over $500. They were apparently new and were from old stock. If you check on Ebay you can still find a few every now and then. I went with the Clones from Analogue Renaissance because after research I noticed 100% of the customers were satisfied and got them to work. Why my $400 package doesn’t work I don’t know, but it’s extremely disappointing to say the least.

3 thoughts on “Old Roland 80017A and MC-5534A Chips Removed

  1. I just bought a Roland 80017A Analog Renaissance Clone Chip from TBS and after installing it didnĀ“t work.Could it has been destroyed easily ? Or are there faulty ones distributed?

    • If you soldering skills are good, I’d say it’s likely that it’s not quite soldered on the board correctly or good enough. You probably didn’t damage the chip. However, if you are not really skilled at soldering then perhaps you might have damaged a component. Yes, it also is possible the chip is faulty. I in fact did receive a faulty chip from AR but elected not to pursue the matter. I later sent all my chips to Allen at the Synth Spa who was able to restore everything for me. I now have sockets and can test chips which ultimately would be great in your case. If you could find someone with sockets in their Juno 106 to test your chip it would help to determine if the chip is good or not. Sometimes the chip is good but you may have copper trace issues which also happened to me. The AR chips are not 100% though despite all the rave reviews and experiences people are having. It’s also possible a tech with the proper equipment could test the life of the chip to see if it’s working ok as well I imagine.

      • Hi read this and the previous blog about 80017 chip sockets.
        I was going to try the acetone method for some 80017′s in my roland mks-30
        I wanted to get a friend to put sockets in, what type of sockets did you use in the end, could you help me and give me a bit of information about exactly which type you used and did the chip fit in ok, thanks
        ray

Leave a Reply

