MAM MB33 mkII Bass Synth

MAM MB33mkII Bass Synth

MAM MB33mkII Bass Synth

Yesterday I picked up a used MAM MB33 mkII Bass Synth here in Nagano-city, JAPAN. Everything on the device works great except for some static when turning the Volume knob. I suspect the Alpha A 47K Pot inside is worn out possibly. The MB33 mkII does work when I set the volume at a certain level and just leave it there. Today I found some spare Alpha A 47K Pots on Ebay for sale and am ordering a few to replace the Volume one inside. The others I’ll keep for spares as this MAM MB33 mkII is awesome. I really like it.

Many people consider the MAM MB33 mkII Bass Synth as a sort of Roland TB-303 clone, but honestly I’ve never owned a TB-303 and am not really interested in having an exact clone. Rather I like the MB33 mkII for what it does on it’s own and it really does sound fantastic to me. It’s an all analog device with components inside that I’ve heard are similar to that of the TB-303. The MAM MB33 mkII Bass Synth is very easy to operate when you Midi it up to the sequencer of your choice. I definitely would recommend the MB33 mkII as it really sounds ultra Phat and is very warm sounding.

MAM MB33 mkII Alpha A47K Pots

MAM MB33 mkII Alpha A47K Pots

Above and below are snapshots of the inside of the MAM MB33 mkII Bass Synth. You can see the pots along the top of the photograph. When these go out they need to be replaced and the pots can be difficult to find. Everything is pretty much in excellent condition.

MAM MB33 mkII Inside

MAM MB33 mkII Inside

The Alpha A 47K Pot similar to the one found in the MAM MB33 mkII Bass Synth. Replacements are found on Ebay from the UK.

Alpha A47K Pot

Alpha A47K Pot

Here is a video found on Youtube showing how the MAM MB33 mkII Bass Synth sounds.

One thought on “MAM MB33 mkII Bass Synth

  1. I just received my Alpha A 47K Pot replacements for the MAM MB33 mkII Bass Synth found on Ebay from the UK. They look great and hopefully they’ll work great too.

Leave a Reply

