Sampler Triggers Arppegiator Sync for Roland Juno 6

Roland Juno 6 Synthesizer

Roland Juno 6 Synthesizer

Today I successfully managed to trigger and sync my Roland Juno 6 arpeggiator with my Yamaha RS-7000 Sampler Workstation. AWESOME! It works beautifully and the timing is very tight and doesn’t have any problems at all. I sampled a positive pulse sound and loaded wav up with the Yamaha RS-7000. I then used the Sequencer to create a pattern of pulse beats. After that I connected a cord from the headphone jack of the RS7000 Sampler to the Trigger Sync Jack (In) of the Roland Juno 6. I turned on the Arpeggiator along with the hold button and presto …. the arpeggitaor was triggered flawlessly. You have to turn up the volume on the RS-7000 all the way too so that you get at or above the 5V mark.

The Yamaha RS7000 Sampler is perfect for me because I can also sync with Midi and have any other drum machine, sampler, synth, etc. play in time with the Roland Juno 6. Sweet! You can also program different patterns among a few other things on the Yamaha RS-7000 so that you can get some really cool Arpeggiator arrangements for the Juno 6. After searching around the internet I could find very little if any information, so I was quite thrilled to find a solution so easily and quickly. Now I don’t have to waste money on a Roland TR-707 or TR-626 for simply triggering the Juno 6 or creating patterns. The RS-7000 does it all and more.

Thus getting the Roland Juno 6 in sync with my other gear is now completely solved. Saving patches is the only minor glitch, but that is actually proving to not to be a big problem because I can pretty much program the sounds I need rather quickly anyway. It’s also fun to just be plain different whenever I do a song each time because it adds variety and I can come up with new fresh ideas. The Roland Juno 6 is a fantastic synth and for the price I paid $90 including manual and hard case, I really feel like I’m in Synth Heaven. Much fun indeed!

9 thoughts on “Sampler Triggers Arppegiator Sync for Roland Juno 6

  1. I’m finding the Roland TR-606 I picked up recently works well with triggering the arp on the Roland Juno-6. The TR-606 also has dual trigger outputs so I can also sync the arp from the Korg Poly-61 as well at the same time. Lots of possibilities there. The Roland TR-606 is awesome!

    • I just stumbled across this post and it looks like you’ve solved a problem I’m currently dealing with. I hope I can bend your ear!

      I’ve got a Roland Juno -6 and a Boss/Roland DR220 drum machine. I’d like to run from the DR220 trigger out to the Juno Arp Clock in. Should be no problem at all, out to in, same voltage (+), practically the same manufacturer. I make the connection and press a note on the Juno. Then I press the ‘Hold’ button. Then I press the ‘Arpeggio’ button. Then I start the demo pattern on the 220 and…nothing. The note holds steady. The demo pattern moves on to some kind of combo of rim shot, bass drum and hi-hat or cowbell and then I begin to hear a very simple two step arpeggiation from the Juno. I’m not exactly setting the world on fire. When I have them connected and I’m just in “live” playing mode on the DR220 there’s nothing going on either. Do I have to be playing back a specific pattern on the DR220? Most of the stuff I’ve read hasn’t been too clear on that. I’ve heard stories of loud noises played through audio out jacks triggering the Juno -6, but mine seems to be a little more finnicky than that. I am totally open to the possibility of the Clock jack being shot, too, I should add. Sorry for the long post, but I’m in the weeds with these things.

      • Hi Greg,

        I’m not sure how the Boss DR220 triggers exactly, but it sounds like the trigger pulse is not being transmitted properly (or at least more than once). If I refer back to my Yamaha RS7000 sampler for example, I used to trigger the Juno-6 by running a line out from the headphone jack to the trigger in of the Juno-6. I had to crank up the volume to 100%. After that I programmed a pattern using the step sequencer which triggered an instance of a WAV Pulse sample for each note the sequencer played. I followed the setup steps for the Juno-6 as you mentioned and it worked great.

        With the TR-606 it was the same, but I had to program my pattern using the Low Tom and High Tom so that each time the Toms would send a trigger to the Juno-6. Thus it’s likely you’ll have to program a specific pattern on your DR220 using the specific drum voice that triggers the pulse. It should be in the manual about which drum piece does the triggering. Then program a pattern, press play, and that should get your Juno-6 jamming on the pattern.

        Hope this helps.

  2. Hi, Jim,

    Thanks for your input. I wanted to stop back by and give an update. Success at last:

    I put the problem up for a few days and then came back to it yesterday while I was installing and configuring some new gear. I recalled something about the Juno-6 arpeggiator having a fondness for short, loud, punchy signals. I took the DR220 out of the equation and ran a line out from my sound card into the trigger input on the Juno. I used a bog-standard 1/8″ to 1/4″ TRS cable. I brought up my copy of Fruity Loops and loaded a clap percussion sample. I edited the sample, in FL, to make it as short and as loud as possible; instant attack, no delay whatsoever, maximum noise and reverb but almost instantaneous decay. The sample edited thus, I set up a really simple pattern at something like 85 or 90bpm. Hit and held a note on the Juno, activated the Arp. function and it was off to the races! I can’t say what this says about the DR220, but it sure seems safe to me to say that any loud, sharp, percussive signal will trigger the Juno-6 arpeggio. It would also seem to be true that the Juno-6 arpeggio requires a >very< precise, metronomic pattern to pick up on. Simply playing the sound "live" won't work…The ever-so-slight timing variations present in any human playing will throw the Juno's clock right off track. That would explain why playing the DR220 "live" didn't do anything. Next step is to program a sequence into the DR220 and see what happens. I'm pretty sure it will work. This breakthrough was the toast of Facebook until my efforts were upstaged by Osama bin Laden's demise…something about having my cake and eating it, too.

    Thanks again,
    Greg

  3. hi

    sorry to hijack the thread. Really pleased to find some very current advice about this as im going through the same problem with the juno 6. i have tried a click out of my daw interface and a rim shot and a snare but not yet a clap. My situation is made more complex as i am trying to sync up with a human drummer playing to a click coming from logic through an interface’s sub outs and also some other loops and backing tracks coming from logic out of interface main outs for live gig playing. So have to use another sub out to trigger juno and route sequence from there but it seems that maybe sub outs are ‘quieter’ than main outs and just cant seem to get the required juice to come out!!!! Any suggestions!?!? could a drum machine help?

  4. Thanks for absolutely (for me) revolutionary advice. I’ve owned my Juno-6 17 years and never tried the arpeggio clock. Now I sync it with my Alesis SR- 16 drum machine.

Leave a Reply

